Steampunk

I love Victorian clothing and science fiction, so it stands to reason I should love steampunk.

My first venture into steampunk clothing was in 2009 when I was invited to attend a steam train ride in steampunk. I had about a week to throw something together so I made a skirt and wore the bodice from my first attempt at a Victorian outfit. I found/made a few accessories.

First attempt at steampunk from Kathelyne's Wardrobe. This was thrown together in under a week.

First attempt at steampunk from Kathelyne's Wardrobe. This was thrown together in under a week.

I felt that I was rather ‘under steampunked’ for the occasion and went home and began designing a steampunk outfit.

First attempt at steampunk from Kathelyne's Wardrobe. This was thrown together in under a week.

I had a great time but the train journey showed me I really needed to make a new corset!

This was the design for my first actual steampunk outfit. Unfortunatley there wasn’t enough of the bodice fabric to do a jacket but I did a corset with an optional front piece so I could wear it as a corset under my Victorian outfits as well as for my steampunk. This outfit has evolved into what I call my ‘mix and match steampunk’ as I can change it up by wearing different pieces and accessories.

Kathelyne's steampunk dress design

This is my first wearing of my steampunk, I had made the corset and over skirt only. I wore the skirt I had made for my first steampunk outing.

An early outing of a partially-finished steampunk outfit from Kathelyne's Wardrobe

By my second wearing I had finished the skirt and front corset attachment. Here it is without the overskirt.

Mix-and-match steampunk from Kathelyne's wardrobe shown here without the overskirt.

Here it is with the overskirt.

Mix-and-match steampunk from Kathelyne's wardrobe shown here with the overskirt.

The dress I am wearing underneath was purchased from a modern shop that sells hippy/new age clothing.

Mix-and-match steampunk from Kathelyne's wardrobe shown here with the overskirt.

Sometime after my first steampunk outing I had cause to need a Dorcus Lane (from Lark’s Rise to Candleford) costume so I made a bodice to go with my green skirt. This has since entered my steampunk wardrobe as a more casual style.

Casual steampunk style from Kathelyne's wardrobe

Casual steampunk style from Kathelyne's wardrobe

I was invited to an afternoon tea in steampunk so I tried my mix and match steampunk with a bought corset. Also the last (and first) time I bought an off the rack corset. Made my waist bigger and not comfortable.

Mix-and-match steampunk from Kathelyne's wardrobe.

In 2013 I was invited to a day out, steampunk style. I loved being able to open my wardrobe that morning and pick what I wanted to wear from my steampunk wardrobe!

Mix-and-match steampunk from Kathelyne's wardrobe.

I was invited to a steampunk night out so once again the old mix and match steampunk came out!

Mix-and-match steampunk from Kathelyne's wardrobe.

This outfit was thrown together at the last-minute. I couldn’t find my bustle the morning of an event and I needed it for under my steampunk skirts. Then I remembered I’d loaned it out and hadn’t asked for it back yet. Oops. So I pulled out my Imperial Tournure and put an elliptical skirt over the top, matched it with a blouse, belt, hat I did over for a teen’s dress and my wrist sewing kit and called it steampunk.

Last minute steampunk from Kathelyne's wardrobe. The morning of an event I realised I didn't have the correct underwear for my steampunk outfit so I made-do with a re-hash of some of my victorian clothing.

3 thoughts on “Steampunk

Leave a Reply

